Starting out

“I wonder how many of these first posts look the same?” might be the sort of question a mathematician asks which others wouldn’t, or maybe it’s because of xkcd’s what if question about twitter.

How rude not to introduce myself first! New to all this blogging stuff. I am a PhD student (basic details here) working in an area called group theory which is an abstract way of studying symmetry. So far I have looked at an interesting family of symmetries introduced by C. Houghton in 1978 which are called Houghton groups. I figured I’d start a blog to talk about some of the things I’ve been working on. Feel free to email me with any questions!

Starting out

3 thoughts on “Starting out

Leave a Reply

